PLESSIX

Lot 77
Got to lot
Estimation :
7000 - 8000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 10 140EUR
PLESSIX
MICHEL PLESSIX
THE WIND IN THE SANDS
Le Chant des dunes (T.4), Delcourt 2011
Original cover. Signed. Watercolour on paper
32,4 x 39,4 cm (12,76 x 15,51 in.)

Magnificent composition by an author of a rare quality. We find here all the artist's know-how: legibility and intelligence, perfection in the attitudes, skillful anthropomorphic balance, perfect chromatic perspective of the colors which are staggering, luminous, from the center of the image towards the harmonious half-light of the room, while the heroes, stunned by their discovery, look at the reader. Michel Plessix is a meteor in the world of comics that we have seen pass by too quickly.

Michel Plessix was a contemplative. Drawing was offering the fruit of his reveries, of his wonderings. Short-sighted, he was especially interested in details and sometimes went into images that were so full of them that he lost himself. I think he would then go into a kind of trance. Look at the blackness of the night in this plate. It's not a flat area painted with a brush or the flat of a pencil. But a complex system of hatching arranged in successive layers that give this velvety aspect. When he stayed in Greece, most often in Tinos, he liked to find his habits there, his circle of faithful friends, often timeless travellers like himself. They would meet over resinated wine or ouzo and very quickly the conversations would slide into love, art and often oriental philosophy. There, time no longer existed and these exchanges, punctuated by long silences, stretched into the night. They lived the day only in the expectation of meeting again in the evening. It is these timeless conversations, this seated contemplation of the world that we find in The Wind in the Willows.
The characters we meet are reminiscent of these timeless meetings and discussions. And Michel discovered Essaouira. This city was strangely similar to Saint-Malo where he lived his childhood and he found himself in his place. Tired of Tinos, which was becoming too touristy for his taste, he took up residence in this Moroccan coastal town for a few weeks a year. It is there that Michel wrote and directed the cycle of the Wind in the Sands. He had also reconstructed his dream world there. Invariably after a day's work on a terrace or along the beach, he would dine at Dar Louban in the company of the philosophic and erudite restaurateur, (whom we recognize in Lizarbou le matou) who sometimes invited other solitary travellers to his table. Michel loved the East, the Arab culture, the Maghreb and Essaouira in particular. It was an obvious choice to recreate this imaginary world in the second cycle of Le Vent dans les Saules. The first was the expression of his childhood, the second of his adopted universe.
Emmanuel Lepage
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

PLESSIX

Lot 77
Aller au lot
Estimation :
7000 - 8000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 10 140EUR
PLESSIX
MICHEL PLESSIX
LE VENT DANS LES SABLES
Le Chant des dunes (T.4), Delcourt 2011
Couverture originale. Signée. Aquarelle sur papier
32,4 x 39,4 cm (12,76 x 15,51 in.)

Magnifique composition en contrejour d'un auteur d'une qualité rare. On y retrouve tout le savoir-faire de l'artiste : lisibilité et intelligence, perfection dans les attitudes, habile équilibre anthropomorphique, parfaite perspective chromatique des couleurs qui s'étagent, lumineuses, du centre de l'image vers l'harmonieuse pénombre de la pièce, tandis que les héros, sidérés par leur découverte, regardent le lecteur. Michel Plessix est un météore dans la bande dessinée que l'on a vu trop vite passer.

Michel Plessix était un contemplatif. Dessiner était offrir le fruit de ses rêveries, de ses émerveillements. Myope, il s'intéressait surtout aux détails et partait parfois dans des images qui en fourmillaient, au point de se perdre. Je crois qu'il rentrait alors dans une sorte de transe. Voyez le noir de la nuit dans cette planche. Il ne s'agit pas d'un aplat posé au pinceau ou avec le plat d'un crayon. Mais un système complexe de hachures disposées en couches successives qui donnent cet aspect velouté. Quand il séjournait en Grèce, le plus souvent à Tinos, il aimait retrouver là ses habitudes, son cercle d'amis fidèles, souvent des voyageurs hors du temps comme lui. Ils se réunissaient autour de vin résiné ou d'ouzo et très vite les conversations glissaient sur l'amour, l'art et la philosophie souvent orientale. Là le temps n'existait plus et ces échanges, ponctués de longs silences, s'étiraient jusqu'au bout de la nuit. Ils ne vivaient la journée que dans l 'attente de se retrouver le soir. Ce sont ces conversations intemporelles, cette contemplation assise du monde que nous retrouvons dans Le Vent dans les Saules.
Les personnages que l'on croise sont les réminiscences de ces rencontres et de ces discussions hors du temps. Et Michel découvrit Essaouira. Cette ville ressemblait étrangement à Saint-Malo où il vécut son enfance et il s'y trouva à sa place. Lassé de Tinos qui devenait à son goût trop touristique, il prit ses quartiers dans cette ville côtière du Maroc quelques semaines par an. C'est là que Michel a écrit et mis en scène le cycle du Vent dans les Sables. Il avait là aussi reconstitué son univers rêvé. Invariablement après une journée de travail à une terrasse ou le long de la plage, il dînait au Dar Louban en compagnie du restaurateur philosophe et érudit, (que l'on reconnaît dans Lizarbou le matou) qui invitait parfois à sa table d'autres voyageurs solitaires. Michel aimait l'orient, la culture arabe, le Maghreb et Essaouira en particulier. Ce fut une évidence que de recréer cet imaginaire dans le deuxième cycle du Vent dans les Saules. Le premier était l'expression de son enfance, le second de son univers d'adoption.
Emmanuel Lepage
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue